SCP at the APA Convention in Denver

The Society of Clinical Psychology had an impressive presence and very successful program this year at APA Convention in Denver.  In addition to having a very well attended and positively received set of sessions this year that included “Cognitive Therapy for Suicide Prevention” by Dr. Gregory Brown and “Contemporary Problem-Solving Therapy: A Transdiagnostic Approach to Enhance Resilience”  by Dr. Arthur Nezu, we hosted a very successful Social Networking Event and Awards Ceremony, which included the first-ever SCP Speed Mentoring Event to kickoff the SCP Mentorship Program. The SCP Board also held a very effective Board Meeting, during which developments related to new initiatives were discussed and opportunities for 2017 were identified. SCP President Brad Karlin also reviewed the initial results and implications from the SCP Membership Needs Assessment. Additional information related to the Needs Assessment will soon be provided to the membership.


2016 Awards Ceremony


Dr. Karlin and Dr. Les MoreyAward for Distinguished Scientific Contributions to Clinical Psychology presented to Leslie C. Morey, Ph.D. for distinguished theoretical or empirical contributions to Clinical Psychology throughout their careers.


Dr. Karlin and Dr. BeckFlorence Halpern Award for Distinguished Professional Contributions to Clinical Psychology presented to J. Gayle Beck, Ph.D. for distinguished advances in psychology leading to the understanding or amelioration of important practical problems and outstanding contributions to the general profession of clinical psychology.


Dr. Karlin and Dr. Nolan ZaneStanley Sue Award for Distinguished Contributions to Diversity in Clinical Psychology presented to Nolan Zane, Ph.D. for remarkable contributions to the understanding of human diversity and whose contributions have significant promise for bettering the human condition, overcoming prejudice, and enhancing the quality of life for humankind.


Toy Caldwell-Colbert Award for Distinguished Educator in Clinical Psychology presented to Gregory L. Stuart, Ph.D. for excellence in mentoring clinical psychology graduate students, interns, postdoctoral fellows and junior faculty.


Dr. Karlin and Dr. Thomas OlinoDavid Shakow Early Career Award for Contributions to Clinical Psychology presented to Thomas M. Olino, Ph.D. for contributions to the science clinical psychology by a person who has received the doctorate within the past seven years and who has made noteworthy contributions both to science and to practice.


Dr. Karlin and Dr. Brian HallTheodore Blau Early Career Award for Distinguished Professional Contributions to Clinical Psychology presented to Brian Hall, Ph.D. and Cara L. Lewis, Ph.D. for professional accomplishment and promise in Clinical Psychology.  Accomplishments may include promoting the practice of clinical psychology through professional service; innovation in service delivery; novel application of applied research methodologies to professional practice; positive impact on health delivery systems; development of creative educational programs for practice; or other novel or creative activities advancing the service of the profession.


Dr. Karlin and Dr. Josh MillerThe American Psychological Foundation Theodore Millon Award presented to Joshua Miller, Ph.D. for outstanding mid-career advances in the science of personality psychology including the areas of personology, personality theory, personality disorders, and personality measurement.  This award is given jointly by The American Psychological Foundation and the Society of Clinical Psychology.


Dr. Karlin and Dr. Lauren MizockSamuel M. Turner Early Career Award for Distinguished Contributions to Diversity in Clinical Psychology presented to Lauren Mizock, Ph.D. for an early career psychologist who has made exemplary contributions to diversity within the field.  Such contributions can include research, service, practice, training, or any combination thereof.


Dr. Karlin and Hannah WilliamsonDistinguished Student Research in Clinical Psychology Award presented to Hannah Williamson for exemplary theoretical or empirical contributions to research in clinical psychology.

Distinguished Student Practice in Clinical Psychology Award presented to Halina Dour for outstanding clinical practice contributions to the profession.

Distinguished Student Service in Clinical Psychology Award presented to Chardée Galán for outstanding service contributions to the profession and community.


Student Poster Awards

Zachary Goodman Poster Award WinnerZachary Goodman, 2nd year, California State University, Sacramento

Research Advisor: Greg Kim, PhD

Zachary Goodman, Tiana Osborne, Tseng Vang, Bianca Sprouse, & Greg Kim, PhD

Impact of Depression on Future Aspirations through Self-Efficacy



Dana Kamara Poster Award WinnerDana Kamara, 4th year, Ohio State University

Research Advisor: Andrea Witwer, PhD

Dana Kamara, BS, Andrea Witwer, PhD, & Katherine Walton, PhD

Socioemotional Screening Tools for Toddlers with Developmental Delays




Morgan Levy Poster Award WinnerMorgan Levy, 4th year, Nova Southeastern University

Research Advisor:  Christian DeLucia, PhD

Morgan Levy, Chrisian DeLucia, & Olivia Larson

Examination of a Mindfulness-Based Intervention for Older Adults




Rachel Zachar Poster Award Winner

Rachel Zachar, BA, 3rd year, Nova Southeastern University PsyD

Research Advisor: Charles Golden, PhD

Rachel Zachar, Jonatho Wutke, Charles Golden, Daniel Amen, Kristin Willeumier, & Derek Taylor

A SPECT Study of Cerebral Blood Perfusion Differences in High and Low Self-Reported Anger


Alexandra Greenfield Poster Award WinnerAlexandra Greenfield, 4th year, Drexel University

Research Advisor: Arthur Nezu, PhD, ABPP, DHL (Hon.)

Alexandra Greenfield, MS, Alexa Hays, BA, Arthur Nezu, PhD, ABPP, DHL (Hon.), & Christine Nezu, PhD, ABPP

Exploring the Relationships Among Major Theories of Problem Solving



Wei Yu Poster Award WinnerWei Yu, PhD program at Beijing Normal University/Weill Cornell Medical College

Research Advisors:  Dr. Jianping Wang,  and Dr. Holly G. Prigerson,

Wei Yu, Li He, Wei Xu, Jianping Wang, Holly Prigerson

How Do Attachment Dimensions Affect Bereavement Adjustment? A Mediation Model of Continuing Bonds





Much appreciation to the Division 12 Members who helped with reviewing the student poster awards:

Tina Drossos, PhD, Section 8

Brian Yochim, PhD, Section 2

Derek Giannone, Section 10

Kennetha Frye, Section 10

Sharon Berry, PhD, Coordinator